What are the basics?

All the facts about the Challenge and special announcements from the Coordinator.

Moderators: RedBaron, itsjoanne, RedBaron, itsjoanne, RedBaron, itsjoanne

Bob78
Pencil 1 (1-49 Posts)
Pencil 1 (1-49 Posts)

What are the basics?

Post by Bob78 »

Deb,
I'm new to the FW forum, so I'm still trying to find my around all of your services. I'm interesting in participating in the weekly Challenge, but I can't find out any information regarding the basics for doing this. Is there a form in which I am to submit my document? If so, where is it? Is there a program I'm to use in writing my document, like Word or Notepad? If so, what is it? What is the maximum word count? I think I saw this someplace, but I don't remember where. Perhaps everyone knows the answers to these questions or knows where to find this information, but I don't. Your help will be appreciated. Thanks.
Bob
RedBaron

Post by RedBaron »

I'm not Deb, but she's probably (better be) asleep right now in Australia.

Quite a lot of the info is in the FAQ, but I'll help you out with some quick things right now.

HEREis where you enter. You can upload a file, but I've found it easier to copy/paste it in from my WP.

You can type it in your favorite program (preferably one with a word counter built in at least). Word count is 150-750.
<><
Shari
FW 500 Member

"...hunt like a spider..." Cori - FW Con '07
Deb Porter
FaithWriters and Site Admin

Post by Deb Porter »

Hi Bob. Good on you for jumping into the Challenge.

Shari's pointed you in the right direction. The only thing to watch is not to upload anything other than a plain text file. So don't save a file in Word and upload that, or you'll end up with formatting problems.

If you save your file as plain text, then you can upload it. If not, copy and paste.